h1

D is for Dreams

April 5, 2011

Have you ever had a dream come true? When I was a teenager, one of my biggest dreams came true when I went to a Boyzone concert and saw Stephen Gately live on stage. It sounds distinctly uncool now, but at the time it was the happiest day of my life!

I had posters of Stephen Gately all over my bedroom. I played their first album until I wore it out and I doodled “Mrs Karen Gately” all over my schoolbooks. Of course, he hadn’t revealed he was gay at that point :p

Anyhow, that night at the concert alongside hundreds (it was a small arena!) of screaming fans, I saw the man I wanted to marry. The feeling was pretty surreal. I distinctly remember being ecstatically happy while at the same time, feeling like it wasn’t real.

Teenage crushes on pop stars or movie stars is something most people go through. Stephen Gately was my first genuine celebrity love, swiftly followed by Robbie Williams. Who were your celebrity crushes, and did you ever get to see them in the flesh?

9 comments

  1. Great post! I guess the closest I’ve come to seeing a “celebrity crush” is 5 Marilyn Manson concerts. lol


  2. I didn’t have any crushes like that, on boy bands or anything.(it’s kind of weird I know) Now, I have crushes on certain actors and musicians, but in preteen/teen years when Fan becomes Fanatic, I didn’t. I did, however, have a collage of Christina Aguilera photos on my wall. πŸ˜€


    • Lol, I actually had Christina Aguilera posters too! πŸ˜€


  3. Ahh, my teen loves: David Cassidy, Bobby Sherman, James Brolin … I remember having a scrapbook full of pictures from Tiger Beat and other teen magazines! Happy memories!


    • Is it weird that I’ve never heard of Bobby Sherman? *blushes* Thanks for stopping by! πŸ˜€


  4. Oh, so cute! I think my first big dream like that was winning Junior Miss when I was in high school. I’ve always craved being the center… being chosen OVER… (even the girl who typically trumped me on everything–she was first runner up). It’s funny. It seems so silly now. I’m often embarrassed, as I am SO not a pageant kind of person, but it seemed pretty darned big at 16.


  5. My teen crush was Matthew Lawrence, I never really met him, but I went to a taping of Brotherly Love, and I really thought he smiled at me.



Leave a Reply

